Something out of Nothing

I’ve only discovered my love for film-making (more like video editing) early last year. I don’t know, it somehow takes my stress away. Well, I haven’t done any serious projects. I’ve planned making short films and music videos with my brother, but nothing pursues, because we always find ourselves uncommitted (more like lazy bums) . Oh forgive us. Nevertheless, I’d still like to make a full length film in the near future! So you better keep eyes on that (CHOS). For now, I’d like to share to y’all all the videos I’ve done so far.

Well, before you click the play button, I’d like to share a side story on how I discovered my penchant on video editing. It all started with “I want to practice my film-making-skills”, so one day, I brought my flip camera with me (It was during my first road trip with my family this year). I just randomly took footage and clips, and had a thought of putting them altogether in one montage. So I tried it and totally enjoyed it,thus,I’ve tried it doing again and again, until I’ve made three montages out of raw videos.

So instead of keeping all the clips and videos in my computer, might as well experiment with them and make something out nothing, right? And it really helps me enhance my filmmaking skills. I only not study the videos, but I also study the timing, music, and the flow (or the story line). Of course, I’d love to inspire people in my own little ways, so I make it a point that each of them holds lesson and inspiration that can hopefully enlighten my viewers.
Well editing these videos makes me realised that it’s no picnic to make films. It takes a lot of hard work, courage and patience. Well, I am not saying that I’m already good at this stuff, I am still an amateur and I’m learning…I’m trying.

So before this post will go longer and longer, here are my own masterpieces:

You Have No Idea Where Your Shoes Can Take You

Lez go to ze Jungle 

EH KASI NGA MAS MASAYA SA PINAS

*Just go to my vimeo account If you want to know the back stories of each 🙂

Oh I’d like to share this as well. This actually my first time filming with Kuya’s SLR. And apparently, masyado ako natuwa sa focus-effect =P

Well I’m not bragging about my own work. I still have a lot of things to learn in this field. I share this because I want people to realise that most of the time, we overlook the simplest things around us.  Getting in this kind of hobby makes me realise that you can really make something out of nothing.  So, before throwing all the things that you thought insignificant, think again. You’ll never know, you might miss out a wonderful masterpiece of your own. 🙂 I think every invention starts from experimentation.

— Marah x