Salamat, Mang Dolphy ☺

The Philippine nation mourns, as the King of Comedy, Dolphy bid goodbye to the world last 10th of July. I’ve been trying to write again… I’ve been trying to regain my passion on writing…I’ve been trying one day at a time. And I must say, I’m not fully ready yet. But I just can take not to blog about this… about him and his glory that he brought to millions and millions of people ( that includes myself). Pardon, my lousy used of speech, but I’ll try to write the words that will give justice to the man who never failed to make us laugh and smile.

I never met him. I wish I could’ve gotten the chance to meet him personally. But yea, that won’t happen anymore.Perhaps, in another universe. I am a fan. I can vividly remember, few years back when I was really really into acting, he’s one of the people I dreamed to work with If ever I will get the chance to enter the world of Television. Being a comic really runs in our family. I believe that we all have a genius sense of humor. I somehow came from a Cosme-like-kind-of-family ( I hope that makes sense). A family that is filled with so much joy and laughter. As a self-proclaimed comedienne, working with the King of Comedy in a sitcom will be such a great honor. But right now, there is no chance that it’ll come true. Well, maybe in another life it can happen… I hope.

It is true that end justifies the means. I was not aware of what’s going through with his life the past few years, until the last month when he got confined and a lot of rumors spread about his health condition. That’s just when I started being concern and I prayed for him and I still do. I was able to get an update about him the past every single day the past few weeks. And with the help of twitter, last July 10, I found out that he’s gone. I was saddened by the news. It felt surreal, and it still does.

With his passing, I come to learn more about him, which lead me to realize a lot of things about life and about myself. It was last night when I started reading articles about him and today I got to watch the Tribute offering ABS-CBN had for him. Even though, I never got the chance to witness Mang Dolphy, not as a King of Comedy but as a real man, I can really tell that in spite of all his flaws, he is a great man and has a big heart. There’s more about him than being the King of Comedy. Mang Dolphy was a son, a father, a husband, a friend, a mentor, a man, a filipino and an epitome of a true artist.

I never thought that reading all the write ups about him, watching interviews pertaining how a good man he was, can give me a sense of purpose. Somehow, I found what I really want to do in life, not only in terms of my career but also in terms of my character. I come to realize that life’s too short and I want to make the most out of it, because we only live once. Life is too short, time is running and I want to be a better person right now. I want to begin the process of being the ideal me right at this moment.

A lot of people start bettering themselves when they lose someone they love. And honestly, I don’t want to find myself in that situation (nor in that condition). The people we love deserve the best from us, and I believe that they should witness that until they are here with us. And I believe ourselves also deserve the best from us. And this is exactly what I’ve seen with Mang Dolphy’s family. They did their best to be with their father during this ordeal. They make the most out of the time left. Let’s not waste our time. Sure, we’ll make mistakes along the way. But please, don’t let just one mistake ruin everything and make your life full of regrets. Let’s live like the way Mang Dolphy did.

To quote Mang Dolphy: “A day without laughter is a day wasted.”

We don’t have to punish ourselves by all the mistakes we’ve committed in the past. Let’s simply laugh. It helps…a lot. Isa lang ang buhay natin. Mabuhay tayo ng tama. Laban at Magtiwala. Ngiti =D. Sabi nga sa OST ng Home Along The Riles: ” Problema ay may remedy kapag may konting comedy.” And I believe this is the message that Mang Dolphy wants to leave to people. Tawanan mo ang problema. Have faith that no matter how bad your circumstances are, everything’s gonna be fine, eventually. Magsimula ka. Pag nadapa. Magsimula ka ulit. Bumangon ka ng paulit ulit. Tinawanan niya ang problema. Tawanan mo lang ang mundo. Laughter is indeed the best medicine. So don’t be afraid to look stupid, laugh..laugh your heart out. laugh out loud. Yaan ang secret ni Mang Dolphy. He never got tired of trying to pursue his dreams. He never got tired of being happy and kind. And seeing his children, his wife, you can really tell that Mang Dolphy did his job on earth excellently. Indeed, a job well done; a life well-lived. Imagine, in spite of his absence, he still never fails to give us life lessons like he did before. And I believe, he will continue to inspire millions in the years to come.

Let’s make Mang Dolphy as our inpiration to laugh in spite of the trials, to love in spite of how broken we are and to live in spite of the struggle.

Mang Dolphy,

I feel so blessed to be a 90’s baby and to witness your masterpieces growing up. I swear, my childhood wouldn’t be as wonderful as it was If you weren’t part of it. When I have my own children, I make a point to make them watch Home Along The Riles. I’ll try my best to implement to them what you implemented to my life. Thank you for sharing your gifts to us. Maraming maraming Salamat po sa lahat ng katatawanan at aral na ibinahagi niyo sa amin. You are truly an inspiration. Your legacy will not be forgotten.With or without an award, you are still a national artist to me. Though, there’s no chance for me to meet you anymore, I am still positive that God will lead me to a detour that somehow will connect me to you. I hope you’re happy up there! Simulan mo na magspread ng tuwa sa itaas! Please pray for all of us you left behind to have the courage to live life the way you did. May you rest in paradise, Mang Dolphy. Maraming Salamat, Idol. We love you.

Love,
Marah 🙂

Leave a comment